Connect with us

Crime and Courts

ED appoints 3-member tribunal to investigate Justice Thompson Mabhikwa



Justice Thompson James Mabhikwa

ED appoints a 3-member tribunal to investigate Justice Thompson Mabhikwa. The tribunal is made up of Retired Justice Maphios Cheda, Chaka Mashoko and Phillipa Magnify Phillips. Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Virginia Mabiza is the secretary for the tribunal.

President Emmerson Mnangagwa has appointed a three-member tribunal to investigate the suitability of Bulawayo High Court judge Justice Thompson James Mabhikwa to continue in office following allegations of misconduct, s.e.xual harassment and possession of p0rn0graphic material.

The tribunal is expected to complete the investigation within three months. The setting up of the tribunal follows an investigation by the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) into the alleged love affair between Justice Mabhikwa and Oratile Nare, an assistant to Bulawayo High Court judge Justice Maxwell Takuva.

According to the JSC code of conduct, it is unethical for a boss and a subordinate to engage in an affair. JSC recommendation received the JSC recommendation dated 1 June before he set up the tribunal through Statutory Instrument 170A of 2021, Proclamation 4 of 2021 dated 15 June.

He said the terms and reference of the tribunal are to investigate the matter into removal from office Justice Mabhikwa after the judge was charged with three offences.

Source – Pindula news

In other news – President Mnangagwa announces new COVID-19 measures for selected areas

President Mnangagwa announces new COVID-19 measures for selected areas. Affected areas are Hurungwe, Makonde, and Kariba. President Emmerson Mnangagwa has announced new COVID-19 measures for areas that have experienced a spike in new infections of the coronavirus.


Pindula News presents the statement that was read by the Minister of Health and Child Care, Vice President Constantino Chiwenga…Learn More.




Copyright © 2021 -