South Africa News

Full list of Ramaphosa’s new cabinet

President Cyril Ramaphosa unveiled his new Cabinet in a televised address on Sunday, June 30th, marking a significant step for South Africa’s Government of National Unity (GNU). This coalition was formed following the decline in electoral support for the African National Congress (ANC), which previously held a majority.

Ramaphosa emphasized the diversity of the new Cabinet, stating that ministers were selected from across the nation to represent all South Africans. He stressed that each minister is accountable to the entire populace, not just specific constituencies or segments of society.

The new Cabinet includes Paul Mashatile as Deputy President and a range of ministers overseeing key portfolios such as Agriculture, Basic Education, Communications and Digital Technologies, and Health. Notably, the Democratic Alliance (DA) secured several significant ministries as part of the GNU negotiations.

The Parliament’s opening session is scheduled for July 18th, coinciding with Nelson Mandela International Day. During this event, Ramaphosa will outline the priorities for his administration before a joint sitting of the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces.

This Cabinet formation signals the beginning of South Africa’s seventh administration under Ramaphosa’s leadership, aiming to navigate the nation through a period of political transition and governance renewal.

In other news – West Ham signs promising Zimbabwean teen from Manchester City

As confirmed by renowned football journalist Fabrizio Romano, young talent David Chigwada has completed a transfer from Manchester City to West Ham. The 16-year-old striker, born in England to Zimbabwean parents, is eligible to represent Zimbabwe internationally.

According to Romano, Chigwada finalized his move to West Ham after signing his contract, marking a significant step in his burgeoning career. Read More

Back to top button